Skip to main content

Committee on Graduate Education

The Committee on Graduate Education considers matters related to graduate education.

The Committee on Graduate Education (CGE) is responsible for considering all matters concerning graduate education that might come before the Faculty Council or the full Faculty of Arts and Sciences and for advising the Dean of the Faculty and the deans of the Graduate School on matters pertaining to graduate education. 

The faculty members of the committee are selected from the Faculty Council in the fall. The president of the Harvard Griffin GSAS Student Council serves ex officio, and other student members are named in the fall. 

2023-2024 Committee Members 

Faculty Council Members 

Emma Dench, Chair, Dean of the Harvard Kenneth C. Griffin Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, McLean Professor of Ancient and Modern History and of the Classics, FAS

Terence Capellini, Professor of Human Evolutionary Biology, FAS

David Joselit, Arthur Kingsley Porter Professor of Art, Film, and Visual Studies, FAS

Erez Manela, Francis Lee Higginson Professor of History, FAS

Hannah Marcus, John and Ruth Hazel Associate Professor of the Social Sciences, FAS

Doris Sommer, Ira Jewell Williams Professor of Romance Languages and Literatures, FAS

Administrative Members 

Allen Aloise, Dean for Administration and Finance, Harvard Griffin GSAS

Noël Bisson, Dean of Academic Programs, Harvard Griffin GSAS

Jen Flynn, Senior Director of Global Outreach, Harvard Griffin GSAS

Shelby Johnson, Associate Director of Academic Programs, Harvard Griffin GSAS

Erika McDonald, Registrar of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences, Harvard University 

Sheila Thomas, Dean for Equity, Diversity, Inclusion & Belonging and Special Projects Advisor, Harvard Griffin GSAS

Student Members from the Harvard Griffin GSAS Student Council 

Jessica Chen, GSC President

Sarah Hoback, GSC Chair of Research

Zachary Lim, GSC Advisor

Max Lu, GSC Member

Aden Solway, GSC Vice President

Events Calendar