Each year, departments and programs from across GSAS nominate graduating students who have contributed meaningfully to student life to serve as Commencement marshals.

The eight outstanding students selected as 2015 marshals by a committee of the Graduate Student Council will lead the GSAS Commencement procession down Oxford Street and into Tercentenary Theatre in Harvard Yard for the Morning Exercises, carrying the GSAS, SEAS, and Dudley House banners. They are traditionally the first Harvard graduate students to enter the yard each year.

The 2015 Commencement Marshals

Matheus Fernandes, ME, Engineering Sciences

Tanmoy Laskar, PhD, Astronomy

Rachel Leng, AM, Regional Studies–East Asia

Paola Mariselli-Huggins, SM, Computer Science

Kelly Anne Miller, PhD, Applied Physics

Dinyar Patel, PhD, History

David Sherman, PhD, Chemistry

Xu Zhang, PhD, Applied Physics

Announcing the 2015 Commencement Marshals