The Graduate Policy Committee (GPC) reviews graduate programs, engaging with program leaders about admissions practices, advising systems, student life, curricular offerings and requirements, temporal guideposts and time to degree, and outplacement of degree holders. Reviews are scheduled in a regular cycle over the years. Additionally, the GPC coordinates with the FAS Faculty Council and its subcommittee on graduate education on policy discussions, mandated reviews of programs, and consideration of proposed new PhD programs. Where appropriate, the GPC also coordinates with relevant bodies at other Harvard schools involved in interfaculty PhD programs.


Co-chaired by the dean of the FAS and the dean of GSAS, the GPC includes two senior faculty each from the FAS humanities, social science, and natural science programs, several senior faculty members involved with interfaculty graduate programs, an ex officio senior faculty member designated each year by the Committee on Graduate Education of the FAS Faculty Council. The dean of Harvard College, FAS divisional deans, the registrar, and additional senior GSAS administrators are invited to attend meetings that cover issues relevant to their expertise or responsibilities.

Graduate Policy Committee 2018–2019 Members

Emma Dench, Chair
Dean, Graduate School of Arts and Sciences
McLean Professor of Ancient and Modern History and of the Classics

Allen Aloise
Dean for Administration and Finance, GSAS

Josiah Blackmore
Nancy Clark Smith Professor of the Language and Literature of Portugal

Richard Born
Professor of Neurobiology

Vincent Brown
Charles Warren Professor of History and Professor of African and African American Studies

Cassandra Extavour
Professor of Organismic and Evolutionary Biology and of Cellular Biology

Laura Frahm
Assistant Professor of Visual and Environmental Studies

Jeffry Frieden
Professor of Government

Gonzalo Giribet
Professor of Organismic and Evolutionary Biology

Jerry Green
David A. Wells Professor of Political Economy

Andrew Ho
Professor of Education, Harvard Graduate School of Education

Daniel Jacob
Vasco McCoy Family Professor of Atmospheric Chemistry and Environmental Engineering, on leave fall 2018

Shigehisa Kuriyama
Reischauer Institute Professor of Cultural History, on sabbatical 2018-2019

Rebecca Lemov
Professor of the History of Science

Jeffrey Schnapp
Professor of Romance Languages and Literatures

John Stauffer
Professor of English and Professor of African and African American Studies

Robert Stavins
A.J. Meyer Professor of Energy & Economy Development

S (Subu) Subramanian
Professor of Population Health and Geography

Karen Thornber
Professor of Comparative Literature

Christopher Winship
Diker-Tishman Professor of Sociology

Regularly-Invited Guests

Noel Bisson
Associate Dean of Undergraduate Education

Lawrence Bobo
Dean, Social Sciences

Mohan Boodram
Dean for Admissions and Financial Aid

Michael Burke
Registrar, FAS

David Cardozo
Associate Dean, Division of Medical Sciences

Francis Doyle
Dean, Harvard John A. Paulson School of Engineering and Applied Sciences

Claudine Gay
Edgerley Family Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences

James Hogle
Edward S. Harkness Professor Biological Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology

Robin Kelsey
Dean of Arts and Humanities

Lisa Laskin
Assistant Dean of Undergraduate Education

Garth McCavana
Dean for Student Affairs

Christopher Stubbs
Interim Dean, Sciences

Sheila Thomas
Dean for Academic Programs and Diversity

Nina Zipser
Dean for Faculty Affairs and Planning, FAS